Chorus America Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given by Chorus America to a member whose long-term service to the choral field is judged to have significantly furthered the organization’s mission “to empower singing ensembles to create vibrant communities and effect meaningful change by offering services that promote artistic achievement, organizational strength, and advocacy.”


The recipient will be selected by a committee of Chorus America officers.

The Distinguished Service Award is given at the discretion of the officers and may not be given annually.


Nominees must be members of Chorus America. The nominee’s contributions may have been made in either a professional or volunteer capacity but should have an impact on the national scale, above and beyond a local community. An individual may receive this award only once.

Deadline & How to Apply

The deadline to submit via the Chorus America Application Portal (CAAP) is Thursday, January 26, 2023 at 11:59PM ET.

Nominations are solicited from the entire Chorus America membership. Self-nominations are not accepted. Letters of nomination must be written by an individual member or by a representative of a chorus member organization of Chorus America.

The letter of nomination should be no longer than five pages and should include:

  • a curriculum vitae for the nominee
  • a statement outlining specific achievements that qualify the individual for consideration

Additionally, three letters of recommendation in support of the nominee are required. The request for these letters is sent as part of the application in CAAP. Recommenders who receive the request then upload the letters directly into the system.

Applications will only be accepted through  CAAP

Past Awardees

2023   Roland M. Carter
2022   Ysaӱe M. Barnwell
2021  Kathy Saltzman Romey
2020  Philip Brunelle
2019  Alan Harler
2018  Joshua Jacobson
2017  Henry Leck
2016  Louise Greenberg
2015  Terry Knowles
2014  Ann Howard Jones
2013  Helmuth Rilling
2012  John Hoyt Stookey
2011  André J. Thomas
2010  H. Royce Saltzman


Questions? Contact Karyn Castro at 202.331.7577 x246 or [email protected]

Get News